Dusk and Sunshine

I see it now,
riding behind you,
the trail unfurls,

at last more green
than brown.  I am startled
to be looking at myself.  Your hair,

my hair, your movements,
my movements.  And yet,
there is so much

that remains unwritten –
so much of you
that is only yours,

your life opening up
like this very river.  And so,
I see you also

as wholly yourself, perhaps
for the very first time,
or at least for the first time

in this particular light,
as the sun sets below
the San Juan mountains,

and we bounce along
over the mossy banks,
over the stones.

Leave a Reply

